Review Panel

Peer Review Process

The following is to inform about the peer review procedure for the 2005 Berlin Conference on the Human Dimensions of Global Environmental Change “International Organisations and Global Environmental Governance”. We publish this information to increase transparency in the selection process for the series of Berlin Conferences.

  1. For the 2005 Berlin Conference, 230 abstracts have been submitted on time. The submissions have been fairly balanced across continents.
  2. All abstracts have been fully anonymised and submitted to independent peer review by a panel of 32 international experts in the field of international organisations and global environmental governance.
  3. Members of the review panel were requested to evaluate the scientific quality and novelty of the abstract as well as its fit to the theme of the 2005 Berlin Conference as outlined in the call for papers.
  4. The size of the review panel allowed for each abstract to be reviewed by 3-4 experts. Abstracts have been alloted to reviewers on a random basis.
  5. The reviewers have ranked all abstracts on a scale of 1-5. On this basis, we have calculated average grades for each abstract.
  6. Papers with a ranking of 3.0 or higher have been invited for presentation at the 2005 Berlin Conference. These were 128 paper proposals, slightly more than the “target” number of presentations at the Berlin Conferences (around 100 papers per event).

The review process has been co-ordinated by Philipp Pattberg and Fariborz Zelli, both research fellows with the Global Governance Project, with support of Anna Schreyoegg, the manager of the 2005 Berlin Conference.

The 32 members of the international review panel included:

Name Affiliation
Alcock, Frank New College of Florida at Sarasota, USA
Andresen, Steinar University of Oslo, Norway
Arts, Bas Radboud University Nijmegen, Netherlands
Biermann, Frank Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, Netherlands
Carius, Alexander Adelphi Research Institute, Berlin, Germany
Desai, Bharat Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi, India
Elliott, Lorraine University of Warwick, UK
Falkner, Robert London School of Economics and Political Science, UK
Feindt, Peter Universität Hamburg, Germany
Gehring, Thomas Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg, Germany
Gerlak, Andrea Columbia University, New York, USA
Goldman, Michael University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, USA
Gupta, Aarti Wageningen University, Netherlands
Gutner, Tamar American University, Washington DC, USA
Jacob, Klaus Freie Universität Berlin, Germany
Joachim, Jutta Universität Hannover, Germany
Jörgens, Helge Freie Universität Berlin, Germany
Kirton, John University of Toronto, Canada
Leiteritz, Ralf London School of Economics and Political Science, UK
Levy, David University of Massachusetts at Boston, USA
Mitchell, Ronald B. University of Oregon at Eugene, USA
Najam, Adil Tufts University, Boston, USA
Oberthür, Sebastian Otto-Friedrich-Universität Bamberg, Germany
Peritore, N. Patrick University of Missouri at Columbia, USA
Rosendal, G. Kristin Fridtjof Nansen Institute, Lysaker, Norway
Schreurs, Miranda University of Maryland at College Park, USA
Siebenhüner, Bernd Carl-von-Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg, Germany
Skjaerseth, Jon B. Fridtjof Nansen Institute, Lysaker, Norway
van der Grijp, Nicolien Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, Netherlands
VanDeveer, Stacy University of New Hampshire at Durham, USA
Weaver, Catherine University of Kansas at Lawrence, USA
Wettestad, Jørgen Fridtjof Nansen Institute, Lysaker, Norway



Anna Schreyögg Conference Manager, 2005 Berlin Conference Bc2005@zedat.fu-