contact us steering & organisation background informationour supportors and sponsorsreview panelcall for papersservice informationregistrationprogrammedownload papersconference participantspictures Gallery


Review Panel


All presentations at the 2008 Berlin Conference on the Human Dimensions of Global Environmental Change / International Conference of the Social-Ecological Research Programme have been selected in a transparent and double-blind review process. This ensures a high quality of the presentations and a coherent thematic structure of the conference.

After closing the call for papers (15 September 2007) all 416 submitted abstracts have been reviewed by an international review panel (see below). All abstracts are evaluated independently and anonymously by at least four reviewers, allotted on a random basis. Review criteria were the fit with the conference theme, novelty and the scientific quality of the proposal. Given the restrictions of conference space and presentation time and in order to keep the conference at a reasonable size to allow for meaningful discussions, slightly less than 50% of the abstracts could be accepted for presentation at the 2008 Berlin Conference on the Human Dimensions of Global Environmental Change / International Conference of the Social-Ecological Research Programme.

Members of the international review panel:


Aarti Gupta

Wageningen University

Alex Haxeltine

University of East Anglia

Andrea Gerlak

Columbia University

Andrea Lenschow

Universität Osnabrück

Andreas Krämer

Ecologic Institute

Andrew Jordan

University of East Anglia

Annica Kronsell

Lund University

Anthony Patt


Arthur Petersen

Netherlands Environmental Assessment Agency

Bernd Siebenhüner

University of Oldenburg

Bharat Desai

Jawaharlal Nehru University

Chuckwumerije Okereke

Tyndall Center

Claudia Pahl-Wostl

University Osnabrück

Daniel Compagnon

Sciences Po Bordeaux

David Levy

University of Massachusetts

Detlef Sprinz

Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research

Fariborz Zelli

University of East Anglia

Frank Alcock

New College of Florida

Frank Biermann

Vrije Universiteit, IVM

Fritz Reusswig

Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research

G. Kristin Rosendal

Fridtjof Nansen Institute

Harald Heinrichs

Leuphana University Lüneburg

Heike Schroeder

Oxford University

Helge Jörgens

German Advisory Council on the Environment

Helmut Haberl

University of Klagenfurt

Henk Overbeek

Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

Henrik Selin

Boston univ.

James Meadowcroft

Carleton University

Jill Jaeger


John Kirton

University of Toronto

John Turnpenny


Jon B. Skjærseth

Fridtjof Nansen Institute

Jorgen Wettestad

Fridtjof Nansen Institute

Joshua Busby

Austin University

Jouni Paavola


Julia Hertin

Freie Universität Berlin, FFU

Ken Green

Manchester Business School

Kirsten Jörgensen

Freie Universität Berlin, FFU

Klaus Dingwerth

University Bremen

Klaus Jacob

Freie Universität Berlin, FFU

Lennart Olsson

Lund Universtity

Lorraine Elliott

Australian National University

Louis Lebel

Chiang Mai University

Marc Levy

Columbia University, CIESIN

Martin Müller

Oldenburg University

Matthias Ruth

University of Maryland, College Park

Michelle Betsill

Colorado University

Miranda Schreurs

University of Maryland

Nicolien van der Grijp

Vrije Universiteit, IVM

Oran Young

University of California

Per-Olof Busch

Freie Universität Berlin, FFU

Peter Feindt

University of Hamburg

Philipp Pattberg

Vrije Universeit Amsterdam, IVM

Pim Martens

Maastricht University, ICIS

Richard Howarth

Dartmouth College

Robert Falkner

London School of Economics and Political Science

Ronald B. Mitchell

University of Oregon

Sebastian Oberthür

Free University Brussels

Stacy Vandeveer

University of New Hampshire

Stefan Seuring

Oldenburg univ., Kassel univ.

Steffen Bauer

German Institute for Development Studies (DIE)

Steinar Andresen

Fridtjof Nansen Institute

Sverker C. Jagers

Göteborg University

Sylvia Karlsson

Turku school of economics

Tanja Börzel

Freie Universität Berlin

Thomas Bernauer

ETH Zürich

Thomas Jahn


Timothy Moss

Institute for Regional Development and Structural Planning (IRS)

Ulf Schrader

Hannover University

Victor Galaz

Stockholm University